Singapore Computer Society announces IT award winners

T.C. Seow

He was also awarded the inaugural Special Recognition Award by the Ministry of Information, Communication and the Arts (MICA), Singapore. In 2005, the Singapore Computer Society bestowed him with the IT Leader of the Year recognition.

Young Professional of the Year
This year's winner, Saurav Bhattacharyya, is the CEO and co-founder of Quantum Inventions (QI), an innovation leader in connected automotive navigation, delivering rich on-board information services for consumer's motoring convenience and Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) for enterprise and government solutions. Graduating with a Honours degree in Computer Engineering in 2000, he started a research oriented career at the Centre for High Performance Embedded Systems (CHiPES) at NTU. In the five years he spent there, he published over 26 academic papers.

In 2006, after securing Masters in Computer Engineering, he moved on to commercialise navigation and routing technology from CHiPES, NTU, through Quantum Inventions (QI) together with co-founder, Prof Thambipillai Srikanthan. From creating commercial value for its traffic information services, QI is now moving to providing in-vehicle information and navigation services to automotive OEM's globally.

Saurav has been conferred the Merit Award by Standards Council of Singapore in 2009, and through his leadership, QI has been awarded the Young Innovator award under the Land Transport Excellence Awards in 2010.

IT Youth Awards
Liu Junhua, this year's IT Youth, graduated from the Diploma in Information Technology from Singapore Polytechnic (SP) and is now an undergraduate in Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD).

While Liu was in SP, his final year project improved the emergency handling systems for crime and fire cases which was conducted in collaboration with Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Singapore Police Force (SPF) and Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF). He led his team, Viva Studio to win the 2011 SiTF Award (Tertiary Student), SLA Spatial Challenge 2011 First Price (Tertiary Student Category) and several other awards.

Liu researches on designing interactive learning experience for IT education to cultivate self- driven and motivated students. Sponsored by the SUTD-MIT International Design Centre (IDC), Junhua conceptualised, developed, and executed an academic study titled Integrating Design-Based Learning and Active Learning in Software Engineering Education. He designed and developed the contemporary pedagogies, teaching methods, and experiments. The result of academic study is soon to be published by the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE) Annual Conference 2013.

The other IT Youth Award winner is Teh Kaiwen, whose interest in IT began at a young age of nine when he was enthralled by the rich opportunities and wonders of the Internet. He enrolled into Temasek Polytechnic in 2005 after completing his O Levels. However, he failed to clear his studies in his first year, despite repeated attempts and subsequently he had to leave the polytechnic in 2006.

Previous Page  1  2  3  Next Page