Making global e-commerce safer, CyberSecurity Malaysia now chair of WTA


CyberSecurity Malaysia CEO modified

Photo - Dr Amirudin Abdul Wahab, CEO, CyberSecurity Malaysia


Malaysia's national security specialist agency CyberSecurity Malaysia has been elected as the 2014 Chair of the Trustmark Alliance (WTA) and will help to drive initiatives to make the e-commerce environment safer, it said.

CyberSecurity Malaysia chief executive officer Dr Amirudin Abdul Wahab is now the chairman  of WTA, which currently comprises 37 members from 30 countries, including Malaysia, Japan, Taiwan, USA, Germany, France, Mexico, Thailand, Korea, Singapore, Philippines, China and Vietnam.

Dr Amirudin thanked the WTA members for selecting CyberSecurity Malaysia. "[In addition] I am pleased to accept this appointment on behalf of CyberSecurity Malaysia's MTPS [Malaysia Trustmark for Private Sector Programme]. This clearly demonstrates WTA members' recognition of CyberSecurity Malaysia's professionalism and contribution to WTA since 2011." 

"CyberSecurity Malaysia became a member of the WTA on 30th of November 2011, after being appointed by the Malaysian Government to operate the MTPS a year earlier," he said.
"There is tremendous growth potential for e-business both globally and locally," said Dr Amirudin. "E-business is expected to positively and strongly contribute to the Malaysian economy especially in terms of creating jobs and revitalizing various sectors -- such as the manufacturing, retail, telecommunications and postal services. However, the e-business industry is prone to problems such as credit card frauds, fraudulent e-business merchants, phishing sites, and hackers' attacks on e-commerce websites."

"Those security and 'trust' issues prompted the Government to implement a programme to promote greater trust and confidence in e-business in Malaysia, where e-business entities could be assessed and certified for legitimacy and cyber security," he said.

 Global e-business security practices

"CyberSecurity Malaysia is given the responsibility to operate the MTPS, while the Malaysian Administrative Modernisation and Management Planning Unit (MAMPU) operate the Malaysia Trustmark for the public sector programme known as Malaysia Trustmark bagi Sektor Awam (MTSA).," said Dr Amirudin.

"We decided to become a member of the WTA to ensure that MTPS complies with the global e-business practices. We ran a pilot programme in 2012 and officially launched the MTPS on the 3rd of July 2013," he said.

WTA uses a set of Code of Conduct, also known as Guidelines for Trustmark Operators - Good Online Behaviour for Merchants. The Code of Conduct is recognised as the global best practices on e-business and covers the following six domains:

1. Disclosure of Information,
2. Practices,
3. Security,
4. Privacy,
5. Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), and
6. Monitoring.

Dr Amirudin said CyberSecurity Malaysia as chair will be hosting WTA's Annual General Meeting (AGM) meeting and Awareness Conference in Malaysia this coming October 2014, where the 37 Trustmark Operators from 30 countries will meet to discuss the following agenda:

1. Membership agreement for the new member
2. Current development among the members
3. Emergent market trends
4. Current issues discussion
5. Project status discussion

WTA is a global organisation of Trustmark Operators, comprising 37 members from 30 countries including Malaysia, Japan, Taiwan, USA, Germany, France, Mexico, Thailand, Korea, Singapore, Philippines, China and Vietnam. WTA was formerly known as ATA (Asia-Pacific Trustmark Alliance), which was established in 2003 as a membership-based organisation.